Architonic Newsletter 09.2012

Liebe Leser,

Hier die Inhalte unseres September Newsletters in Kürze:

  • Agenda Oktober & November 2012
  • Weiss ist nicht immer gleich weiss: Materials Councils Ausstellung 'Whiter than White' bei der Super Brands London
  • Kultivierte Firmenkultur: Designgeschichte in Londons Design-Showrooms beim LDF 2012
  • CREA AWARDS 2012: Bekanntgabe der Preisträger
  • Architonic Products & Materials: Inspirierende Suchergebnisse N°9
  • Architonic Architektur & Design: Inspirierende Räume N°2
  • Die Neusten Projekte aus unserer 'Architektur & Design' Bibliothek

 

Nach acht Tagen voller Ausstellungen, Installationen, Veranstaltungen, Vorträgen und Podiumsgesprächen und nicht zuletzt auch Parties und spannenden Begegnungen, gehört nun auch die zehnte Ausgabe des London Design Festival der Vergangenheit an.

Das neue Schwesterunternehmen von Architonic – Materials Council – nutzte den Rahmen des London Design Festivals, um sich der Öffentlichkeit vorzustellen und einen fulminanten Start hinzulegen. Architonic feierte diese Premiere mit einer Party am Eröffnungsabend von "Super Brands", mit Monkey 47 Gin, Thomas Henry Tonic Water und Slide als Partner. Mehr zur Austellung anlässlich der Lancierung von Materials Council im Artikel 'Weiss ist nicht immer gleich weiss: Materials Councils Ausstellung 'Whiter than White' bei Super Brands London'.

Parallel zu den grossen Ausstellungen wie Super Brands London, Tent, designjunction und 100% Design, nutzten einige Design Brands ihre Ausstellungsräume in der Stadt, um den Blick auf interessante Facetten ihrer eigenen Designgeschichte zu richten. Mehr dazu finden Sie im Artikel 'Kultivierte Firmenkultur: Designgeschichte in Londons Design-Showrooms beim LDF 2012'.

Weiter wurden – mit Jurybeteiligung von Architonic – im September die CREA AWARDS von Vibia vergeben. Wir stellen Ihnen die drei Gewinnerprojekte vor.

Ach ja, bevor wir es vergessen: London war nicht das Ende der diesjährigen Messesaison! An der Designbiennale Interieur in Kortrijk und an der Orgatec in Köln wird Architonic jeweils mit einem Stand vertreten sein. Weiter feiern wir am 24. Oktober im Kölner King Georg – mehr dazu aber demnächst im Special Newsletter zur Orgatec, in welchem wir Sie dann auch über ein bahnbrechendes neues Feature in unserer Datenbank informieren dürfen.

Hier finden Sie schon mal den Architonic Guide zur Orgatec Cologne zum download:

 

 

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren!

 

Ihr Architonic Team

Zürich | Mailand | Barcelona | Berlin | Köln | Kopenhagen | Stockholm | London

Anzeige

Agenda Oktober & November 2012

23rd Biennale of Design, Ljubljana

27. September - 11. November 2012


VLOW!, Bregenz

5. & 6. Oktober 2012



Green Home Design, Mailand
17. - 20. Oktober 2012



MADE Expo, Mailand
17. - 20. Oktober 2012

Architektur 0.12, Zürich
19. - 21. October 2012

Neue Werkstoffe - Symposium, München
19. Oktober 2012 
Vortrag von Materials Council's/Architonic's Ian Hunter

Interieur, Kortrijk
20. - 28. Oktober 2012

Materialica, München
23. - 25. Oktober 2012

Orgatec, Köln
23. - 27. Oktober 2012
Besuchen Sie Architonic am Stand A-70 / B-71, Halle 9

Architonic Disco, Köln
24. Oktober 2012

Designer's Open, Leipzig
25. – 28. Oktober 2012

Designers' Saturday, Langenthal CH
3. & 4. November 2012

Anzeige

Weiss ist nicht immer gleich weiss: Materials Councils Ausstellung 'Whiter than White' bei Super Brands London.

Wir alle wissen, wie die Farbe Weiss aussieht, oder? Alle, die mit dieser vorgefassten Meinung die Super Brands London diesen September besucht haben, wurden durch die beeindruckende Ausstellung von Materials Council, der neu gegründeten Beratungsfirma für Materialanwendungen in der Architektur und Schwestergesellschaft von Architonic, eines Besseren belehrt.

 

Die ausgestellten Materialmuster sprachen sämtliche Sinne an; Foto: Daf Photography

Ausgestellt waren zahlreiche Architekturmaterialien und Oberflächen, die auf anschauliche Weise die Besucher dazu animierten, erneut darüber nachzudenken, wie die Farbe Weiss tatsächlich aussieht. Die Ausstellung demonstrierte, wie kompliziert sich die ewige Suche vieler Architekten nach dem strahlendsten und reinsten Weiss durch verschiedene Faktoren, wie Kosten und Nachhaltigkeit, gestaltet.

 

Materials Council Gründer Brad Turner (links) und Ian Hunter; Foto: Daf Photography

Die unterschiedlich grossen Muster zeigten auf der einen Seite die Vielfalt und Komplexität weisser Materialien und auf der anderen Seite waren sie Gegenstand der Beratungskompetenz der beiden Gründer Ian Hunter und Brad Turner, die Besuchern mit ihrem Fachwissen und ihrer Erfahrung vor Ort zur Seite standen und alle Fragen beantworten konnten.

Die visuelle Faszination der ausgestellten Materialien führte umgehend zu einer weiteren sinnlichen Reaktion der Besucher, indem sie instinktiv ihre Hände nach den Mustern ausstreckten, um sie zu berühren. Dies beweist einmal mehr, wie sehr unser Verständnis und unsere Wahrnehmung der gebauten Umwelt durch die Summe unserer verschiedenen Sinneseindrücke beeinflusst und geprägt werden. Glas, Metall, Naturstein, Beton, Holz, Textilien, Beschichtungen, Kunststoffe und Verbundwerkstoffe - all das wurde von Architekten und anderen Besuchern bei dieser Sonderausstellung von Materials Council bei Super Brands genau unter die Lupe genommen.

 

Gäste feiern die Lancierung von Materials Council dank der Party-Sponsoren Slide, Monkey 47 Gin und Thomas Henry Tonic Water; Foto: Daf Photography

Anzeige

Kultivierte Firmenkultur: Designgeschichte in Londons Design-Showrooms beim LDF 2012

Während bei dem London Design Festival die Top-Design Adressen wie Super Brands London, Tent, designjunction und 100% Design grosse Zuschauermengen anzogen, nutzten eine Reihe anderer Designmarken ihre City-Showrooms, um dort faszinierende Abschnitte der Designgeschichte auszustellen. Hier sind ein paar Beispiele.

 

Vor Vignelli war Matter: Herbert Matters alte Logotype für Knoll im Schaufenster ihres West End-Showrooms beim London Design Festival 2012.

Ausnahmsweise kann man den Hype mal verstehen. Das diesjährige London Design Festival - mit der wiederauferstandenen 100% Design, der aufwendig kuratierten designjunction und den vollgepackten Standorten von Super Brands London und Tent - strahlte eine wiedererlangte Energie aus, die dem Ruf von London als eine der wichtigen globalen Design-Drehscheiben gerecht wurde.

Während die oben genannten Publikumsmagneten mit Produktneuheiten von Herstellern und neuen Ideen der kreativen Szene mehr internationale Besucher anzogen, haben eine Reihe führender Designmarken einen etwas bescheideneren, aber nicht weniger interessanten Weg gewählt: Sie organisierten eigene Showroom-Ausstellungen mit einem klaren designgeschichtlichen Schwerpunkt, die Bedeutung von Design im Kontext einer gelebten Firmenkultur zu würdigen.

 

Die Plakate und Werbearbeiten des in der Schweiz geborenen Grafikdesigners Herbert Matter für die Firma Knoll zieren die Wände des Showrooms der amerikanischen Marke in der Londoner Mortimer Street.


Die Marke Knoll wählte ihren Clerkenwell-Showroom als Standort, um eine Schlüsselfigur ihres reichen grafischen Erbes zu würdigen: den wegweisenden Schweizer Grafikdesigner Herbert Matter. Matter, der zusammen mit Le Corbusier und Fernand Léger in Genf und Paris studierte und arbeitete, festigte durch seine wegweisenden Kombinationen von Fotomontagen mit makelloser Typografie seinen Ruf als einer der innovativsten Grafikdesigner des 20. Jahrhunderts. Er arbeitete zwischen 1946 und 1966 als Designberater für die Firma Knoll und prägte damit massgeblich die noch neue Disziplin des "Corporate Design".

Den Besuchern der Ausstellung “Knoll and Matter: Redefining Visual Communication” wurde die Möglichkeit geboten, Matters innovative grafische Arbeit für Knoll (wieder) zu entdecken. Eine Auswahl von Poster, Werbungen und Firmenlogos zeigten sein visuelles Vokabular, das dazu beigetragen hat, die Marke an die Spitze des modernen Möbeldesigns zu positionieren.

Anzeige

CREA AWARDS 2012: Bekanntgabe der Preisträger

Das Warten hat ein Ende! VIBIA, in Kooperation mit Architonic, ist erfreut, die drei Gewinner des CREA AWARDS 2012 zu verkünden. Kreative Köpfe aus 40 verschiedenen Ländern haben bei diesem Wettbewerb teilgenommen und dabei Lichtideen für Architektur- und Innenarchitekturprojekte geliefert. Die Aufgabe war die Kreation origineller und überzeugender Fotokollagen von Räumen, die mit Vibias neuen modularen Beleuchtungskollektionen ausgeleuchtet sind. Die Gewinner wurden anhand des konzeptionellen Zusammenspiels zwischen den Lichtpositionen und den Räumen, ihrer Kreativität und der architektonischen und visuellen Qualität der Projekte ermittelt. Die Entscheidung ist den Jurymitgliedern Sevil Peach, Ulrike Brandi, Lars Krückeberg, Martin Gran, Francesc Rifé und Tobias Lutz nicht leicht gefallen. Glückwunsch an alle Teilnehmer für ihre Kreativität und ihre unkonventionellen Ideen. Genug der Worte, hier sind die Gewinner:

 

Erster Preis | The Optical Window von Smart Metropolitans (Polen)

Der Raum hat das klare architektonisches Konzept einer verträumten und intimen Umgebung, welche durch die perforierten Aussenwände mit Licht und Schatten spielt. Die Innenwand besteht aus einer Kunstlichtinstallation mit integrierten und an der Wand befestigten FOLD-Leuchten von Vibia, die ein ähnliches Muster an die dahinter liegende Wand wirft. Während die Lichtquelle nicht zu sehen ist, wirft das Licht einen scharfen Schlagschatten an die Stelle, wo der Lampenschirm die Wand berührt und erschafft somit einen visuellen Dialog, ein poetisches Zusammenspiel, zwischen dem Tageslicht und dem künstlichen Innenlicht.

 

Zweiter Preis | Built Link von Jan Ulmer Architects (Deutschland)

Die Berliner Firma verwendete die LINK-Leuchten als “Backsteine” und baute förmlich mit Licht. Das Ergebnis ist ein voluminöser Kern, dessen äussere Hülle aus einer selbsttragenden Lichtkonstruktion besteht und um den herum sich die Räume im "Haus Edelmann" ausbreiten. Die individuellen Elemente dieses Lichtkerns können ein- oder ausgeschaltet und gedimmt werden, um die umliegenden Bereiche voneinander abzugrenzen und sie zu unterscheiden.

 

Dritter Preis | Flow Light von IM LAB (Grossbritannien)

Hier werden mehrere Räume durch einen Treppenaufgang verbunden. Dieses Projekt zeigt eine Lichtlösung, die sowohl die Hauptbereiche hervorhebt, als auch eine plastische Interpretation des Raumes darbietet, die den Besucher durch die vertikale Verbindung führt. Die HALO-Leuchten von Vibia bilden exakt diesen räumlichen Verlauf nach und richten das Licht an der Bewegung des Besuchers aus. Das Ausschenken eines Weines aus der Flasche inspirierte dabei dieses fliessende Design. 

Architonic Produkte & Materialien: Inspirierende Suchergebnisse N° 9

Wandfliesen | …Farbe weiss

Architonic Architektur & Design: Inspirierende Räume N° 2

Architektur und Design | Modelle

Die neusten Projekte aus unserer 'Architektur&Design' Bibliothek

ellenbergerdesign

Waschtisch | Deutschland | 2011

Lischer Partner Architekten Planer

Ferienhaus Huse, Vitznau | Schweiz | Realisiert 2011

Hamonic + Masson

62 Council Flats - Villiot-Râpée, Paris | Frankreich | Realisiert Juli 2011

Architonic Newsletter 09.2012

Dear Readers,

Here's a brief overview of the contents of our September newsletter:

  • Agenda October & November 2012
  • Whiter Shade of Pale: Materials Council's 'Whiter than White' exhibition at Super Brands London
  • Internal Culture: design history revisited at London design showrooms during LDF 2012
  • CREA AWARDS 2012: Winners Announced
  • Architonic Products & Materials: Inspiring Search Results N° 9
  • Architonic Architecture & Design: Inspiring Spaces N° 2
  • The most recent projects from our 'Architecture & Design' library

 

After eight days full of exhibitions and public-space installations, lectures and panel discussions, all accompanied by parties and interesting meetings, the 10th London Design Festival is now also history.
Materials Council, Architonic's associated company, took advantage of the opportunity to present itself to the public and to get off to a resounding start. Architonic celebrated the newly established company with a party on the opening evening of Super Brands, with everything made possible by Monkey 47 Gin, Thomas Henry Tonic Water and Slide. More information about the exhibition on the occasion of the launch of Materials Council appears in the article 'Whiter Shade of Pale: Materials Council's 'Whiter than White' exhibition at Super Brands London'.

Parallel to the various major exhibitions such as Super Brands London, Tent, designjunction and 100% Design, a number of design brands used their showrooms in the city in order to display interesting facets of their own design history. For more information please see the article 'Internal Culture: design history revisited at London design showrooms during LDF 2012'.

In addition – with Architonic represented on the jury – the CREA AWARDS were presented by Vibia in September. We feature the three winning projects.

And before we forget, London was only the beginning of this year's trade fair season. As usual, Architonic will be present with a stand of its own at the Interieur biennial exhibition in Kortrijk and at Orgatec in Cologne. In addition, on 24 October we will be holding a party at King Georg in Cologne – more information will be revealed in our Special Newsletter on the subject of Orgatec, in which we will also be informing you about a ground-breaking new feature in our database.

In the meantime you can download the Architonic Guide to Orgatec Cologne here:

 

 

Go get inspired!


Your Architonic Team

Zurich | Milan | Barcelona | Berlin | Cologne | Copenhagen | Stockholm | London

Advertisement

Agenda October & November 2012

23rd Biennale of Design, Ljubljana

27 September - 11 November 2012


VLOW!, Bregenz

5 & 6 October 2012



Green Home Design, Milan
17 - 20 October 2012



MADE Expo, Milan
17 - 20 October 2012

Architektur 0.12, Zurich
19 - 21 October 2012

Neue Werkstoffe - Symposium, Munich
19 October 2012 
Materials Council's/Architonic's Ian Hunter speaking

Interieur, Kortrijk
20 - 28 October 2012

Materialica, Munich
23 - 25 October 2012

Orgatec, Cologne
23 - 27 October 2012
Visit Architonic at Stand A-70 / B-71, Hall 9

Architonic Disco, Cologne
24 October 2012

Designer's Open, Leipzig
25 – 28 October 2012

Designers' Saturday, Langenthal CH
3 & 4 November 2012

Advertisement

Whiter Shade of Pale: Materials Council's 'Whiter than White' exhibition at Super Brands London

We all know what the colour white looks like. Right? Anyone who made it down to Super Brands London this September would have had such a preconception challenged by a striking exhibition by Materials Council, the newly launched creative materials consultancy and afiliated company of Architonic.

 

Multiple senses were engaged by the materials samples on show; photo by Daf Photography

On show was a curated array of intelligent architectural materials and finishes, which, displayed in a carefully considered, almost graphic manner, encouraged visitors to think again about what the colour white actually looks like. The exhibition also successfully demonstrated how the holy-grail-like pursuit undertaken by so many architects and other creatives for the most brilliant, pristine whiteness in their choice of materials is complicated by a number of important factors, including cost and sustainability.

 

Materials Council founders Brad Turner (left) and Ian Hunter; photo Daf Photography

Ranging in size, the samples in the Materials Council exhibition produced, as a whole, a double effect: on the one hand it foregrounded the complexity involved in specifying materials that seek to achieve a truly pure chromatic appearance; and on the other it showed how expert materials consulting can guide you through that very complexity, allowing you to embrace the creative possibilities that it affords by helping you make the right materials decisions.

The initial visual fascination with the materials on show at 'Whiter than White' led immediately to a second sensory interaction for visitors, as hands were drawn instinctively to touch the samples, throwing once more into relief the extent to which our perception and understanding of the built environment is shaped by the sum total of our various senses. Glass, metal, natural stone, manmade stone, concrete, timber, textiles, coatings, plastics and composites were all scrutinised at Materials Council's special exhibition space at Super Brands by architects and other visitors.

 

Guests helped celebrate the launch of Materials Council thanks to party sponsors Slide, Monkey 47 Gin and Thomas Henry Tonic Water; photo Daf Photography

Advertisement

Internal Culture: design history revisited at London design showrooms during LDF 2012

While the London Design Festival's big-top design destinations, such as Super Brands London, Tent, designjunction and 100% Design pulled large crowds, a number of design brands used their city showrooms as spaces for serving up fascinating slices of design-historical culture. Here's some of what was on the menu.

 

Before Vignelli there was Matter: Herbert Matter's old logotype for Knoll in the window of their West End showroom during the London Design Festival 2012

For once, you can believe the hype. This year's London Design Festival – with its Phoenix-like, born-again 100% Design fair, carefully curated must-see venue designjunction, plus punch-packing destinations Super Brands London and Tent – had a genuinely renewed energy about it, fit for a city with a reputation as one of the world's truly global design hubs.

But while these headline events drew international crowds, eager to see the latest material offerings and ideas from manufacturers and independent designers alike, a number of leading design brands chose, on a more modest scale, to acknowledge the cultural significance of design by curating in-showroom shows with a decidedly design-historical inflection.

 

Swiss-born graphic-design hero Herbert Matter's posters and advertising for Knoll grace the walls of the American brand's showroom on London's Mortimer Street

Knoll chose its Clerkenwell showroom as venue to pay homage to a key figure from the brand's rich graphic heritage – pioneering Swiss-born graphic designer Herbert Matter. Matter, who studied and worked in Geneva and Paris with the likes of Le Corbusier and Ferninand Léger and whose ground-breaking combination of photomontage with impeccable typography sealed his reputation as one of the 20th century's most innovative commercial designers, acted as design consultant to the American manufacturer from 1946 to 1966.

Visitors to the exhibition, entitled 'Knoll and Matter: Redefining Visual Communication', were given the opportunity to (re)discover Matter's innovative graphic work for Knoll in the form of posters, advertising and branding, a visual vocabulary that helped position the brand at the vanguard of modern furniture design.

Advertisement

CREA AWARDS 2012: Winners Announced

The wait is over! VIBIA, in cooperation with Architonic, are excited to announce the three winners of the CREA AWARDS 2012. Creative minds from 40 different countries participated in the contest, providing ideas for lighting applied to architecture and interior design.The main goal: to create inspiring and convincing photo collages of spaces illuminated using Vibia’s new modular lighting collections.The winners were selected on the basis of the conceptual interaction of the light setting with space, their creativity and the architectural and visual quality of the projects. The decision wasn’t easy for jury members Sevil Peach, Ulrike Brandi, Lars Krückeberg, Martin Gran, Francesc Rifé and Tobias Lutz. Congratulations to all participants for their creativity and thinking beyond the conventional. And with that said, here are the winners:

 

First Prize | The Optical Window by Smart Metropolitans (Poland)

The space represents a clear architectural concept of a dreamy, intimate environment that plays with light and shadow with the use of perforated external walls. The internal wall has an artificial light installation with the use of integrated, wall mounted FOLD luminaries by Vibia, which create a similar pattern on the wall. The light-source is not seen, but the light throws sharp-edged shadows where the lampshade touches the wall, creating a visual dialogue, a poetic interaction between external daylight and internal artificial light.

 

Second Prize | Built Link by Jan Ulmer Architects (Germany)

The Berlin firm has implemented the use of LINK lamps by Vibia as 'bricks' to literally build with light. As a result, in 'Haus Edelmann' the rooms open out around a voluminous core, whose outer shell consists of a self-supporting light structure. The individual elements of this core of light can be switched on or off or dimmed in order to differentiate the surrounding areas and functions.

 

Third Prize | Flow Light by IM LAB (UK)

Multiple rooms interlinked by a staircase: the project is both a lighting solution highlighting the main areas of display and a sculptural interpretation of the space, guiding the visitor through the vertical connection. HALO by Vibia allows for exactly that spatial movement through the building, aligning light with the visitor’s motion. The flowing design was inspired by the movement of wine being poured out of the bottle.

Architonic Products & Materials: Inspiring Search Results N° 9

Wall tiles | …in white colour

Architonic Architecture & Design: Inspiring Spaces N° 2

Architecture and Design | Models

The Most Recent Projects From Our 'Architecture & Design' Library

ellenbergerdesign

Washstand | Germany | 2011

Lischer Partner Architekten Planer

Huse holiday house, Vitznau | Switzerland | Completed 2011

Hamonic + Masson

62 Council Flats - Villiot-Râpée | Paris | France | Completed July 2011