Newsletter 09.2008


Liebe Leserinnen und Leser,

Was manche als Manko einer Messe bemängeln mögen, ist das Potential der 100%Design in London: ihre Überschaubarkeit. Grossbritanniens wichtigster Designevent behauptet sich neben den etablierten internationalen Messen mit seiner begrenzten Zahl an ausgewählten Ausstellern als eine erfolgreiche Messe für das Premium-Segment. Wir haben für Sie einige Eindrücke gesammelt.

Mit der Fotoausstellung «Architects' Offices» legt die diesjährige Orgatec ihr Augenmerk auf die Arbeit hinter den Kulissen und präsentiert spannende Einblicke in internationale Architekturbüros: die «Räume, aus denen die Räume sind».

Sie haben mit uns ausserdem die Chance, eine von 500 Freikarten für die Orgatec in Köln - internationale Fachmesse für Einrichtung und Innenausbau von Büros, Hotels und öffentlichen Gebäuden - zu gewinnen.

Lassen Sie sich inspirieren!

Ihr Architonic Team

Zürich | Frankfurt | Berlin | Barcelona | Kopenhagen | London

 
 
Anzeige
 
Klein aber fein
Die 100%Design in London
    Klein aber fein

Es hätte mehr als in die Hose gehen können. Während in New York die Wallstreet bebt und der angelsächsische Immobilienmarkt seinen voraussichtlichen Tiefpunkt erreicht hat, findet in London die 100%Design, die Fachmesse für hochwertige Innenraumgestaltung, statt.
Der erwartete Katzenjammer blieb glücklicherweise aus. Trotz der schlechten Vorzeichen zeigten sich die meisten Aussteller zufrieden, die Veranstalter bemerkten sogar einen deutlichen Zuwachs an professionellem Publikum - mehr Architekten als Händler. Dies lässt sich sicherlich mit der überzeugenden Vorauswahl der Aussteller und der ganzheitlichen Ausrichtung der Messe begründen. Die 100%Design hat vor allem mit der an Bedeutung gewinnenden 100%Detail, dem Teilbereich, der insbesondere Materialien für den konstruktiven Hochbau bündelt, einen klaren Fokus auf Fachpublikum - also Architekten und Planer - gelegt. Das Konzept ging auf. Auch wenn es nicht immer einfach war, über die trockene Standarchitektur und die mitunter dürftig gestalteten Präsentationsflächen mancher Hersteller hinwegzusehen, wird der messeerfahrene Fachbesucher die hochwertigen und innovativen Produkte mit Freude entdeckt haben.
Die 100%Design hat es geschafft, sich als kleine aber qualitativ hochwertige Austtellung zu positionieren und hat mit dem übersichtlichen Angebot eine Lücke gefüllt, die grosse Messen wie Mailand, Köln oder Frankfurt hinterlassen.

   
Fassadensysteme von Speed Deck, Effektglas Narima von Schott, Wandelemente von 3form, 100%Detail
   
Der britische Hersteller Mark launchte auf der 100%Design seine erste Kollektion
   
Raffiniert von hinten, Gauze von Smith & Wighman, 100%Design

Die 100%Futures, Präsentationsplattform für junges Design, ist fester Bestandteil der Messe und eine wichtige Referenz für den internationalen Nachwuchs. In diesem Jahr überzeugten einige Teilnehmer mit inspirierenden Materialexperimenten und Herstellungsweisen.

   
Hosepipe Furniture vom Niederländer Sander Bokkinga, Sitzbank und Stuhl aus Alucobond vom Kanadischen Synthesis Studio, Leuchte und Hocker vom Schweizer Tomas Kral, 100%Futures

Off Events
Die 100%Design ist sicherlich die kommerzielle Basis des London Design Festivals. Das Beispiel Mailand zeigt jedoch, dass alternative Ausstellungsstätten, in London sind dies vor allem die Bezirke um Brompton Road, Covent Garden und Shoreditch, für ein belebendes Rahmenprogramm sorgen und den Messebesuch noch attraktiver gestalten.
Die wohl grösste dieser Ausstellungen ist die Tent in der Truman Brewery auf der legendären Brick Lane. Von Jahr zu Jahr verstärkt sich allerdings der Eindruck, dass sich Tent zunehmend zum Vintage Marktplatz des Festivals entwickelt - für Architekten also eine immer unwichtigere Anlaufstelle.

   
Hervorragende handwerkliche Verarbeitung: The Brain und Scull Chair von Vladi Rapaport, Tent
   
Tom Prices neue geschmolzenen Sitzschalen, Tent
 
 
Anzeige
 
ARCHITECTS' OFFICES Fotoausstellung
an der Orgatec 21.-25.10.2008, Fotos von geeLy, Zürich
 

Bisher galt das Interesse der Öffentlichkeit und der Medien meist ganz den Werken der Architekten. Mit der Sonderausstellung 'Architects' Offices' zeigt die Orgatec erstmals die Arbeitsstätten selbst, in denen Architektur entsteht. Gezeigt werden 'die Räume, aus denen die Räume sind' von ganz unterschiedlichen Büros wie Graft/Berlin, Henning Larsen/Kopenhagen, Massimiliano Fuksas/Rom, Delugan Meissl/Wien u.a. Konzipiert und kuratiert wurde die Ausstellung von Architonic.

  ARCHITECTS' OFFICES Fotoausstellung  
Studio Fuksas, Rom, I und Graft, Berlin, D

Die Ausstellung findet verteilt auf 5 'Hotspots' in den Erschliessungsräumen zwischen den Messehallen satt: auf dem Nordboulevard und in den Passagen zwischen den Hallen 4 und 10 sowie zwischen 3 und 11.

   
Henning Larsen, Kopenhagen, Dk
 
 
Anzeige
 
Anzeige
 
Weitere Artikel aus "News &Trends"
 
Man sitzt bequemer auf einer Farbe, die man mag
  Weitere Artikel aus "News &Trends"

Mit seinen visionären Entwürfen schrieb er Designgeschichte. Verner Panton revolutionierte das Designverständnis der 60er Jahre mit seinen farbintensiven und expressiven Möbeln, vor allem aber mit der Idee der Wohnlandschaft.
Under the Same Roof
 

Sich kurz nach dem Designstudium auf die eigenen Arbeiten zu konzentrieren, den Enthusiasmus und die Energie aus dem schulischen Arbeitsraum mit ins Berufsleben zu nehmen, ist nicht immer einfach. Das Londoner Designerkollektiv macht uns vor, wie es geht.
Illuminated Circular Outline
 

Sie haben jahrelang an seiner Seite gearbeitet: Marianne Panton war nicht nur Verner Pantons Frau, sie war über den Grossteil seiner Schaffensphase auch seine Managerin und Vetraute. Ein Interview mit Marianne Panton und Rina Troxler, Verner Pantons langjähriger Mitarbeiterin.
Starting with The Universe
 

Buckminster Fuller (1895-1983) was one of the great American visionaries of the 20th century. Best-known as the inventor of the geodesic dome, Fuller devoted much of his life to resolving the gap between the sciences and the humanities, which he believed was preventing society from taking a comprehensive view of the world.
Gubi in Szene
 

The danish manufacturer presents five one-of-a-kind installations of its furniture and Bestlite lamps at the Copenhagen Furniture Festival.
Net'n'Nest
 

Net'n'Nest wurde 2006 von Vitra auf der Orgatec in Köln als wegweisende Lösung für das Layout der bis dahin - zumindest in «good old Europe» - mit einem schlechten Image behafteten Grossraumbüros vorgestellt. Net'n'Nest dient der gleichwertigen Behandlung von kollektiver Arbeit in Teams («Net») und von inviduellen Bedürfnissen wie Konzentration, Rückzug, Abgrenzung und Differenzierung («Nest»).
 
 
DESIGNSPOTTER @ imm cologne 2009
Bewerben Sie sich als Aussteller
    DESIGNSPOTTER @ imm cologne 2009

«Die DESIGNSPOTTER-Ausstellung öffnet für euch die Tür zu globalen Märkten.
Im kommenden Januar (19.-25.01.2009) wollen wir der Welt die coolsten und einfallsreichsten, jungen Gestaltungsideen überhaupt präsentieren. Als führende Messe auf dem Möbelsektor ist die imm cologne ein Business Event par excellence. Grund genug, dich JETZT zu bewerben und dir einen der heiss begehrten Ausstellerplätze zu sichern: über 500 qm Ausstellungsfläche, mehr als 115.000 Messebesucher und DEIN PRODUKT mittendrin.

Als Aussteller bist du Teil der DESIGNSPOTTER Pressearbeit rund um die Messe und wirst im offiziellen Messekatalog gelistet. Wir kümmern uns um die Organisation und Koordination der Produktpräsentation, bieten ein offenes Ausstellungsdesign, einen eigenen Pressebereich auf dem Stand und einen zentralen Info-Point. Dein persönliches Erscheinen auf der Messe ist nicht obligatorisch. Einzige Teilnahmebedingung: Dein Produkt stammt aus 2007/2008 und wurde noch nicht in Köln gezeigt. Jeder Aussteller kann ein Produkt präsentieren (Ausnahmen hierzu nur nach Rücksprache mit DESIGNSPOTTER). DESIGNSPOTTER behält sich die Teilnehmerauswahl unter allen eingegangenen Bewerbungen vor.»
(Einladungstext Designspotter)
 
 
Neu bei Architonic
    Neu bei Architonic

Newsletter 09.2008


Dear Readers,

What some people would regard as a drawback in a trade fair, a restricted and manageable range, is in fact the best potential for 100%Design in London. With its limited number of carefully selected exhibitors Great Britain's major design event has come to fill an important position in the premium market next to the established international fairs. We have collected a number of impressions for you.

With its photographic exhibition «Architects' Offices» this year's Orgatec is taking a look at the work behind the scenes and presents insights into international architectural offices: the "rooms, where the rooms come from"

In addition Architonic is giving you the opportunity to win one of 500 free tickets to Orgatec - the international trade fair for the planning, design and furnishing of offices and buildings.

Be inspired!

Your Architonic Team

Zürich | Frankfurt | Berlin | Barcelona | Kopenhagen | London

 
 
Advertisement
 
Small but effective
100%Design in London
    Small but effective

It could easily have been a real flop - a period when Wall Street was in turmoil and in the UK the property market found itself in a state of meltdown was not the ideal time for 100%Design, the trade fair for top quality interior design, to take place in London.
Fortunately things turned out much better than could have been expected. In spite of the unfavourable circumstances most of the exhibitors were satisfied with the results of the fair and the organisers even registered a considerable increase in trade visitors - with more architects than retailers. One explanation for this may be the persuasive selection of exhibitors and the holistic orientation of the fair. 100%Design placed its focus clearly on visitors from inside the industry, in other words architects and planners, who were attracted above all by the increasing importance of 100%Detail, the section of the fair which deals specifically with materials for building design and construction. The concept is a successful one. Even if it isn't always easy to look beyond the sterile standardised architecture of some manufacturers, experienced trade visitors to the fair should be in a position to appreciate as such the high-quality and innovative products which are to be discovered on the occasionally sparsely designed presentation areas.
100%Design has succeeded in positioning itself as a small but premium quality exhibition, and with its manageable range it fills a gap left by the major fairs such as Milan, Cologne and Frankfurt.

   
Facade systems by Speed Deck, Colour effect glas by Schott, Wall system by 3form, 100%Detail
   
The British manufacturer Mark presented at the 100%Design its first collection
   
Artful from behind, Gauze by Smith & Wightman, 100%Design

100%Futures, the presentation platform for up-and-coming design, is an established part of the fair and an important forum for young international designers. This year individual participants made a strong impression with inspiring experiments in materials and production methods.

   
Hosepipe Furniture by Sander Bokkinga, bank and chair made of alucobond by the canadian Synthesis Studio, lamp and stool by swiss Tomas Kral, 100%Futures

Off events
100%Design is very much the commercial basis for the London Design Festival. However, the example of Milan shows that alternative exhibition areas, which in London and are above all the areas around Brompton Road, Covent Garden and Shoreditch, can provide a lively accompanying programme and make a visit to the fair even more enjoyable.
The largest of these alternative exhibitions is the Tent at Truman's Brewery in the legendary Brick Lane. However, every year the impression grows stronger that the Tent is increasingly developing into the vintage marketplace for the festival - which means that for architects the location is becoming increasingly irrelevant.

   
Remarkable craft: The Brain and Scull Chair by Vladi Rapaport, Tent
   
Tom Price´s new melted seating shells, Tent
 
 
Advertisement
 
ARCHITECTS' OFFICES Photo Exhibition
at Orgatec 21.-25.10.2008, pictures by geeLY, Zurich
 

So far the interest of the public and the media has always been fully focussed on the works which are produced by architects. However, with its special 'Architects' Offices' exhibition Orgatec is now for the first time showing the working locations themselves where the architecture originates. The exhibition shows offices such as those of Graft/Berlin, Henning Larsen/Copenhagen, Massimiliano Fuksas/Rome, Delugan Meissl/Vienna and others. The exhibition was conceived and curated by Architonic.

  ARCHITECTS' OFFICES Photo Exhibition  
Studio Fuksas, Rome, I and Graft, Berlin, D

The exhibition is distributed among 5 'hotspots' in the intermediate rooms between the exhibition halls: in the Nordboulevard as well as the corridors between Halls 4 and 10 and Halls 3 and 11.

   
Henning Larsen, Kopenhagen, Dk
 
 
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
 
more Articles from "News &Trends"
 
You sit more comfortably on colours you like
  more Articles from "News &Trends"

He made design history with his visionary creations. Verner Panton revolutionised the way the Sixties looked at design, especially with his interiors.
Under the Same Roof
 

It's not always easy to finish your design studies and then start to concentrate fully on your own production, transferring the enthusiasm and energy of your college days to the world of work. The London designer collective, however, has shown us how it's done.
Illuminated Circular Outline
 

Alone, an "illuminated circular outline", a coat hook that casts an eye at the concept of a wall light. Its clear-cut, linear design is enhanced at the rear by an opal finish ring that fills with white light creating a bright halo focusing on the hanging garment.
Starting with The Universe
 

Buckminster Fuller (1895-1983) was one of the great American visionaries of the 20th century. Best-known as the inventor of the geodesic dome, Fuller devoted much of his life to resolving the gap between the sciences and the humanities, which he believed was preventing society from taking a comprehensive view of the world.
Gubi in Stage
 

The danish manufacturer presents five one-of-a-kind installations of its furniture and Bestlite lamps at the Copenhagen Furniture Festival.
Net'n'Nest
 

In 2006 Net'n'Nest was presented by Vitra at the Orgatec exhibition in Cologne as a pioneering solution to the open plan office, which had until then had the highly negative image, at least in Europe. Net'n'Nest enables the requirements of collective work in teams (Net) and of individual requirements for concentration, privacy, separation and differentiation (Nest) to be balanced.
 
 
DESIGNSPOTTER @ imm cologne 2009
Apply now to become an exhibitor
    DESIGNSPOTTER @ imm cologne 2009

«The DESIGNSPOTTER exhibition will open the door to global markets for you. In the coming year we intend to present to the world the coolest and most ingenious young design ideas of all. As a leading exhibition in the furniture sector the imm cologne is a business event par excellence. All the more reason for you to apply NOW and make sure you get one the highly coveted exhibition spots. Just imagine, an exhibition area of 500 m², more than 115,000 visitors and YOUR PRODUCT right in the middle of it all.

As an exhibitor you will be part of the DESIGNSPOTTER press operations round and about the exhibition and will be listed in the official exhibition catalogue. We will take care of the organisation and coordination of the product presentation, provide an open exhibition design, a special area for the press on the stand and a central info-point. It is not obligatory for you to appear at the exhibition in person. The only condition for participation is that your product was created in 2007/2008 and has not yet been on display in Cologne. Any exhibitor can present a product (exceptions to this require consultation with DESIGNSPOTTER). DESIGNSPOTTER reserves the exclusive right to select participants from all the applications which are received.»
(Invitation Designspotter)
 
 
New Members on Architonic
    New Members on Architonic