Susanne Junker

Autor

Susanne Junker
Berlin   Deutschland

The Venetian City Garden


Place, Typology and Perception
 

Gärten in Venedig? Es scheint ein Widerspruch, weckt Venedig doch sofort Assoziationen an Lagune, Kanäle, Palazzi, winzige Landbrocken dicht bebaut mitten im Wasser. Und doch gehören diese oft versteckten und nicht einsehbaren Stadtgärten als wesentliche Bestandteile zur Typologie Stadt, wie John Dixon Hunt in einer sorgfältigen historischen Analyse belegt. Wie ein Detektiv spürt er diese Gärten auf und untersucht sie auf Gestalt, Funktion, Topologie, Ökologie und auch Mythologie.
The Venetian City Garden
Cover

Neben unzähligen alten Stadtstichen dienen auch Gemäldeausschnitte für die Recherche. So gibt z.B. das Gemälde „Departure of the Gondola“ von Tiepolo augenfällig den Hinweis, dass manche Gärten auch als grüne absolut private „ridotto“ unter offenem Himmel für ausschweifende Feste mit Kostümen und Musik genutzt wurden. Stiche von Coronelli und Bordoni dagegen zeigen stille und geometrisch strenge Klostergärten.
The Venetian City Garden
Stich von Coronelli “Isolario dell’Atlante Veneto” von 1696

Oftmals finden sich nur noch Fragmente eines wortwörtlich untergegangenen Gartens, bis John Dixon Hunt im 20. Jahrhundert bei den Gartenanlagen von Carlo Scarpa und Peggy Guggenheim ankommt. Das Buch endet mit einem Ausblick auf den Paradise Garden von Gustafson und Porter zur Biennale 2008.
The Venetian City Garden
Hofeingang zur Architekturfakultät von Carlo Scarpa

The Venetian City Garden
Skulpturengarten der Peggy Guggenheim Collection von Giorgio Bellavitis

Facts
Autor: John Dixon Hunt
223 Seiten, 256 Abbildungen
29,4 cm x 23,6 cm, gebunden
Verlag Birkhäuser, Basel Boston Berlin 2009
Preisempfehlung des Verlags: 64,09 EUR
ISBN 978-3-7643-8943-7
Text englisch

Zu Birkhäuser Zu Birkhäuser

Susanne Junker

Author

Susanne Junker
Berlin   Germany

The Venetian City Garden


Place, Typology and Perception
 

Gardens in Venice? In view of the fact that Venice immediately evokes associations with lagoons, canals, palazzi and small, densely built-up areas of land surrounded by water, this sounds like something of a contradiction. And yet these urban gardens, which are often secluded from view, are a significant part of urban typology, as John Dixon Hunt demonstrates in his painstaking historical analysis. He has tracked down the city's gardens like a detective, examining their design, function, topology, ecology and even mythology.
The Venetian City Garden
Cover

In addition to countless old engravings showing views of the city, his research also covers extracts from paintings. The Tiepolo painting entitled "Departure of the Gondola", for example, makes it very clear that many a garden was also used as a green and very private "ridotto" in the open air for elaborate festivities with costumes and music. Engravings by Coronelli and Bordoni, on the other hand, show peaceful and geometrically strict cloister gardens.
The Venetian City Garden
Engraving by Coronelli “Isolario dell’Atlante Veneto” from 1696

Often Dixon Hunt discovers only fragments of literally 'sunken' gardens, until he arrives in the twentieth century at the gardens of Carlo Scarpa and Peggy Guggenheim. The book ends with a view of the Paradise Garden created by Gustafson and Porter for the 2008 Biennale.
The Venetian City Garden
Entrance to the Courtyard of the Faculty of Architecture by Carlo Scarpa

The Venetian City Garden
The Peggy Guggenheim Collection sculptural garden by Giorgio Bellavitis

Facts
Author: John Dixon Hunt
223 pages, 256 illustrations
29.4 cm x 23.6 cm, bound
Publishers: Birkhäuser, Basle Boston Berlin 2009
Publisher's recommended price: 64.09 EUR
ISBN 978-3-7643-8943-7
Text English

to Birkhäuser to Birkhäuser