Slide de van Esch

Slide

Fabricant

Designer Dumoffice
Année de lancement 2012
Numéro ID d'Architonic 1187770

Request catalogue
PDF catalogues
Offer
Demande de prix
Contact
Distribution partners
Site web
Demande de fichiers CAO
Envoyer la page
Imprimer la page
Enregistrer la page
QR-Code
La forme d'un objet doit couler de source. C'est autour de cette vision que Marc van Nederpelt, Wiebe Boonstra et Martijn Hoogendijk, designers du collectif amstellodamois Dumoffice, ont élaboré une riche production, dans laquelle s'inscrit naturellement le Portemanteau Slide. Cette nouvelle création fait partie de la collection de van Esch à Goirle. Fondée en 1972, l'entreprise familiale est spécialisée dans les systèmes pour vestiaires et d'accessoires pour l'équipement des entrées.

Le concept à l'origine de Slide est simple. Il se compose de deux tubes métalliques qui, par un système de coulissement, se calent entre le sol et le plafond (jusqu’au un plafond de 340 cm). Ils sont dotés de plusieurs crochets renforcés en plastique qui se fixent à diverses hauteurs, cela pourquoi il est aussi possible de placer des manteaux pour des enfants. La force du concept réside dans sa simplicité ; la forme évoque la fonction.

Si le principe est simple, la conception a été réalisée avec un maximum de soin et de rigueur. Van Nederpelt est conscient que le portemanteau rappelle la forme d'un arbre. « Le bambou nous a inspirés. Les crochets sont les pousses qui donnent naissance aux feuilles. Mais nous avons choisi de ne pas pousser la thématique plus loin. L'image reste très stylisée. »

La simplicité de la construction offre de nombreuses possibilités. Fort de sa flexibilité, le portemanteau se place à l'entrée ou au vestiaire, mais également au mur ou au milieu de la pièce. La forme élancée permet de combiner plusieurs exemplaires, au bureau ou à la maison.

La collaboration entre Van Esch et Dumoffice est née de façon fortuite. « Nous nous rencontrions souvent lors de salons et d'événements », explique Van Nederpelt. Charmés par l'entreprise, les trois designers de Dumoffice étaient favorables à une collaboration. Van Nederpelt : « Van Esch a fait un pari audacieux en commercialisant une collection sans compromis et très cohérente dans l'utilisation du matériau. » Slide s'y intègre parfaitement.


Groupe de produits: Garderobes / Mobilier d'entrée Garde-robes Portemanteaux sur pied Portemanteaux sur pied
Designer: Dumoffice

Plus Plus
van Esch | The latest products
Where to buy

Revendeurs partenaires d'Architonic dans votre région distribuant ce fabricant

Sélectionnez un pays

et une ville/région

ou entrez votre code postal

Recherche

Slide by van Esch

Slide

Manufacturer

Designer Dumoffice
Launched in 2012
Architonic id 1187770

Request catalogue
PDF catalogues
Offer
Price request
Contact
Distribution partners
Website
CAD Request
Send page
Print page
Save page
QR-Code
The form of a design should speak for itself. Based on that principle, designers Marc van Nederpelt, Wiebe Boonstra and Martijn Hoogendijk of the Amsterdam design firm Dumoffice have built up an impressive portfolio of work. The coat rack Slide ties in perfectly with the rest of their oeuvre. This new design is part of the collection offered by van Esch, the Goirle-based family business established in 1972, and specialised in the production of cloakroom systems and entrance accessories.

The idea behind Slide is simple. The design consists of two metal tubes that can be fixed into position between floor and ceiling( up to 340 cm) by sliding them in and out of one another. The tubes are fitted with a series of strengthened plastic hooks that can be attached at various heights so it can also be used for children. This very simplicity is also the strength of the design, whereby the form says everything about the function.

Despite this apparent simplicity, Dumoffice focused considerable attention on the design process. Van Nederpelt realises that in some way the coat rack shares the appearance of a tree. “We took bamboo as our source of inspiration. In that sense, the hooks represent the shoots from which the leaves emerge. Nonetheless we deliberately decided not to push the theme too far. The overall look is highly simplified.”

This simple construction means Slide can offer a range of possibilities. The coat rack is ideal for use in an entrance area or cloakroom, but its flexible character also makes it suitable for placement against a wall or indeed in the middle of an open space. Its sleek appearance means that several units can be grouped together either at the office, or in a home environment.

The collaboration between van Esch and Dumoffice came about by accident. “We regularly met at a whole variety of trade fairs and events,” explained Van Nederpelt. Because they liked the look of the business, the idea of collaboration appealed to the three designers at Dumoffice. As Van Nederpelt continued, “van Esch is willing to take risks with an eye-catching collection, based on clear choices in terms of use of material.” Slide ties in perfectly with that philosophy.


Product group: Hallway Wardrobes Freestanding wardrobes Coat stands
Designer: Dumoffice

More More
van Esch | The latest products
Where to buy

Architonic partner retailers in your area who distribute this manufacturer

Select a country

and a city/region

or enter a postcode

Search